Hi all,

Well, the writing has most definitely been on the back burner the past seven days. Winter has finally arrived in our part of Portugal – the heavy frost is here and the February rains are on their way. So, instead of writing my new novel, I have been chopping wood and cementing crumbling walls in preparedness while my characters develop and have conversations and full blown arguments with each other in my head (totally normal, right?).

So, what novels made it on to the poll this week, and which one won last week?

Here’s this week’s Poll:

 

Here’s the result of last week’s Poll:

There was a bit of a fight between Dead Gone by Luca Veste and The Dry by Jane Harper for the top spot this week, but when the votes were counted it was Dead Gone that snatched it with 33.33% of the votes. The Dry by Jane Harper followed a close second place with 29%, with Rattle by Fiona Cummins taking a deserved third place with 16.67%.

 

This Week’s Winner:

Dead Gone by Luca Veste

The blurb:

The young girl you have found isn’t the first experiment I’ve carried out. She won’t be the last.

A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham.

A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous, unethical and deadly psychological experiments.

When it becomes apparent that each victim has ties to the City of Liverpool University, DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi realise they’re chasing a killer unlike any they’ve hunted before – one who doesn’t just want his victims’ bodies, but wants their minds too.

With a series of psychological twists Dead Gone will keep you guessing until the very end.

Read this great review of Dead Gone by Novel Gossip

Find out more about Luca Veste on his website

 This Week’s Runner up:


The Dry By Jane Harper

Reviewed by crimeworm

Previous poll winners:

03/01/17 A Man With One Of Those Faces By Caimh McDonnell with 35.29%

28/12/16 Bloq by Alan Jones with 28% Joint winner with:

28/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 28%

20/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 45.83%

13/12/16 The Gift by Louise Jensen with 33.33% Joint winner with:

13/12/16 Death Stalks Kettle Street by John Bowen with 33.33%

07/12/16 Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough with 52.94%

29/11/16 An Honest Deceit by Guy Mankowski with 39.13%

22/11/16 Blood Lines by Angela Marsons with 38.46%

16/11/16 Tall Oaks by Chris Whitaker with 25%

 

*Every week I extract all the novel titles from my ‘Round Up Blog‘ and enter them into a poll. If a novel is not on the list it is because it didn’t appear in my blog during the week stated at the top of the poll. I’d love to know which novel (not review) was your favourite. If you haven’t read any of them, pick the one you would choose to read instead.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Which One Was Your Favourite This Week?

  1. No worries! I’ve heard good things about that book. You’ll have to let me know what you think. There’s a good chance it will pop up again in future polls if someone reviews it and the review catches my attention – perhaps you can vote then 🙂

    Like

  2. No rain at all as yet near Almodovar, (since a wet day just after New Year) the skies have been clear and blue every day but cold. Writing is certainly not a good occupation for keeping warm. Hauling wood is, as you say, is hard work but generates some of its own heat!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Both look great reads!
    This wood chopping lark is hard going – but value x 3. I warm up once when I’m chopping it, once when I’m lugging it to the barn, and once when I’m sat next the the fire!
    Have you got rain there yet?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s