Hi all,

Busier than busy at the moment – as well as napping, looking out of the window and prepping my Academy Awards acceptance speech, the first proofs for the new novel arrived from my publisher yesterday, so it’s spit and polish time for ‘Splinter’, the next in the MacReady series, due in July. And work is well under way on the ‘next next’ book, which is as yet untitled so for now we’ll call it ‘Death Is Quite Unpleasant’ or something, just because we can.

Anyroad, back to the poll – and what a poll it is! Some more big hitters this week, so scroll down and vote…

Here’s the result of last week’s Poll:

 

There were four contenders for the top spot this week, each of them worthy of taking the title, but the fantastic SJI Holliday’s ‘The Damselfly’ grabbed the lead straight out of the starting block and never looked back, earning 45.45% of the votes. David Young’s ‘Stasi Wolf’ took the well-deserved runner up spot, with 27.27% of the votes.

Here’s this week’s Poll:

 

More About This Week’s Winner:

The Damselfly – SJI Holliday

An unsolved murder. A community turned against each other. A killer close to home…

Katie Taylor is the perfect student. She s bright and funny, she has a boyfriend who adores her and there are only a few months left of school before she can swap Banktoun for the bright lights of London. Life gets even better when she has an unexpected win on a scratch card. But then Katie s luck runs out.

Her tragic death instead becomes the latest in a series of dark mysteries blighting the small town. The new school counsellor Polly McAllister, who has recently returned to Banktoun to make amends in her own personal life, is thrown in at the deep end as the pupils and staff come to terms with Katie s death. And it s not long before she uncovers a multitude of murky secrets. Did Katie have enemies? Is her boyfriend really so squeaky clean? And who is her brother s mysterious friend?

With Banktoun s insular community inflamed by gossip and a baying mob stirring itself into a frenzy on social media, DS Davie Gray and DC Louise Jennings must work out who really murdered Katie before someone takes matters into their own hands…

The Damselfly is the latest novel from the bestselling author of Black Wood and Willow Walk set in the small Scottish town of Banktoun. Fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons and Peter James will love this rivetting psychological crime thriller as DS Davie Gray tries to hold together a community once again rocked by tragedy.

 

Read this great review of the damselfly by ByTheLetterBookReviews

Find out more about SJI Holliday on her website

Runner Up

Stasi Wolf – David Young

Read this great review of Stasi Wolf by THE BOOK REVIEW CAFÉ

Previous poll winners:

07/02/2017 Evil Games by Angela Marsons with 43.75%

31/01/2017 The Day That Never Comes by Caimh McDonnell with 31.58%

24/01/2017 Ragdoll with 25% Joint Winner with:

24/01/2017 Rupture with 25% Also Joint Winner with:

24/01/2017 A Boy Made Of Blocks with 25%

17/01/2017 Deep Down Dead By Steph Broadribb with 32%

10/01/2017 Dead Gone by Luca Veste with 33.33%

03/01/17 A Man With One Of Those Faces By Caimh McDonnell with 35.29%

28/12/16 Bloq by Alan Jones with 28% Joint winner with:

28/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 28%

20/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 45.83%

13/12/16 The Gift by Louise Jensen with 33.33% Joint winner with:

13/12/16 Death Stalks Kettle Street by John Bowen with 33.33%

07/12/16 Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough with 52.94%

29/11/16 An Honest Deceit by Guy Mankowski with 39.13%

22/11/16 Blood Lines by Angela Marsons with 38.46%

16/11/16 Tall Oaks by Chris Whitaker with 25%

*Every week I extract all the novel titles from my ‘Round Up Blog‘ and enter them into a poll. If a novel is not on the list it is because it didn’t appear in my blog during the week stated at the top of the poll. I’d love to know which novel (not review) was your favourite. If you haven’t read any of them, pick the one you would choose to read instead.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s