Unforgivable Blog Tour – Guest Post for The Quiet Knitter: How a Bit of Cheek Got My First Novel Published (or ‘Mugging a Publisher’)

Unforgivable Blog Tour – Guest Post for The Quiet Knitter: How a Bit of Cheek Got My First Novel Published (or ‘Mugging a Publisher’)

The Quiet Knitter

Hi and welcome along to my stop on the blog tour for “Unforgivable” by Mike Thomas.  This is the second book to feature Will Macready, the first in the series was “Ash and Bones” which I would thoroughly recommend reading (my review of this can be found here).  I’m absolutely delighted to be able to share a guest post today that has been written by Mike, and it’s very inkeeping with his sense of humour, and remember ladies and gents, there are other supermarkets out there if you would prefer their bags….

UnforgivableDescription:

Bombs detonate in a busy souk, causing massive devastation.
An explosion rips apart a mosque, killing and injuring those inside.
But this isn’t the Middle East – this is Cardiff . . .

In a city where tensions are already running high, DC Will MacReady and his colleagues begin the desperate hunt for the attacker…

View original post 1,380 more words

Advertisements

Unforgivable Blog Tour: Review by Crime Book Junkie

Unforgivable Blog Tour: Review by Crime Book Junkie

Unforgiveable Blog Tour: Review

Can I get a Hell Yeah?

It’s my stop on Mike Thomas’ Unforgiveable blog tour! Woohoo!  My thanks to Emily Burns of Bonnier Zaffre and Netgalley for an ARC of this book.  So enough of the chit chat- let’s find out more about the author and this book!

About The Author

Mike Thomas was born in 1971 in the Welsh town of Caerphilly, famed for being the birthplace of comedian Tommy Cooper, its ‘deliciously’ salty cheese, and its castle with a tower which allegedly leans at a sharper angle than the more celebrated one in Pisa.

His teenage years were spent breakdancing, spraying graffiti around the town’s walls and office blocks and just about staying on the right side of the law, until his early twenties when, inexplicably, he joined the local constabulary and began locking people up for spraying graffiti around the town’s walls and office blocks.

While working as a plod in Wales’ capital city of Cardiff, Thomas continued with his childhood passion: writing. As a freelance he produced articles for local newspapers, various websites and national travel magazines, while in 2007 he was one of the winners in the annual Rhys Davies Short Story Competition organised by Literature Wales. After completing a Master’s degree in Creative Writing at the University of Wales between 2007 and 2009, Thomas published his debut novel, Pocket Notebook, in 2010 with William Heinemann/Penguin Random House.

The author was on the prestigious list of Waterstones’ ‘New Voices’ for that year, while Pocket Notebook was longlisted for the Wales Book of the Year and optioned for television by Carnival Films, the producers of Downton Abbey. His second novel, Ugly Bus, was released by Heinemann in 2014 and is currently in development as a six part television series with the BBC. Both novels deal with the uglier side of policing.

Thomas left the police in the spring of 2015 and grew his hair and a pathetic attempt at a beard. He currently lives in the wilds of Portugal with his wife and children. Alongside chopping wood, cementing crumbling house walls and trying to find somewhere that sells his beloved Marmite, he continues to write articles and web pieces for a variety of sites and publications, and is contracted to London’s Bonnier Publishing for three new novels, the first of which – Ash and Bones – was released August 2016. The second in the series, Unforgivable, is due for publication in the summer of 2017.

Continue reading…

Unforgivable Blog Tour – Guest Post for My Chestnut Reading Tree: My First Sudden Death

Unforgivable Blog Tour – Guest Post for My Chestnut Reading Tree: My First Sudden Death

mychestnutreadingtree

I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour today for Unforgivable by Mike Thomas with a guest post from Mike and a review!

About this book…

A dark slice of Cardiff crime for fans of TONY PARSONS, JAMES OSWALD and LUCA VESTE. There isn’t always a welcome in the valleys . . .

Bombs detonate in a busy souk, causing massive devastation.
An explosion rips apart a mosque, killing and injuring those inside.
But this isn’t the Middle East – this is Cardiff . . .

In a city where tensions are already running high, DC Will MacReady and his colleagues begin the desperate hunt for the attacker. If they knew the ‘why’, then surely they can find the ‘who’? But that isn’t so easy, and time is fast running out . . .

MacReady is still trying to prove himself after the horrific events of the previous…

View original post 1,556 more words

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Well, we’ve done it! We’ve got through another year – and what a year it was. Almost everyone I have spoken to found 2016 a more difficult year than others with less of the good stuff happening. So here’s to wishing a bigger and better 2017 for everyone!

Looking back at 2016 as a writer, here are just some of the things that have happened for me this past 12 months, and some of the people I owe my thanks to:

The fantastic team at Bonnier Zaffre for taking a chance on me and flooring me with a three book deal. There’s nothing like a deadline to get that laptop switched on! The result was my first crime fiction novel Ash and Bones – a diversion from the literary (albeit police-based) novels such as Pocket Notebook and Ugly Bus that I usually write. The writing was surprisingly challenging and a real learning curve.

Following the launch of Ash and Bones in August 2016, I experienced my first Blog Tour. Now, I must confess to being a complete Blog Tour Virgin, so this was new and interesting territory.

However, thanks to the ever-patient Emily Burns at Bonnier Zaffre everything was organised for me – I just needed to make contact with bloggers Crime Thriller GirlReading Room With A ViewCol’s Criminal LibraryBy The Letter Book ReviewsCrime Book JunkieLiz Loves Books and Crime Worm who kindly agreed to be my Blog Tour Guides (thanks, guys!).  Their generosity and enthusiasm opened my eyes to a wonderful community of readers, reviewers and fellow writers, and made me want to become involved.

In the last few months this is what I have started to do with a very small blog where I round up the blog posts I have personally enjoyed (yes, I do read every single one). Next year, I plan to expand it with more reviews, interviews and general news and info that I hope others will find interesting.

I thoroughly enjoy compiling the ‘Which One Was Your Favourite This Week’ slot, which will continue, and the monthly 5WH interviews launch later this week with none other than Steph Broadribb, author of Deep Down Dead, kick starting it (if you’re an author or blogger and fancy joining me in the Interview Room, just get in touch).

I also started my ‘Book of the Year‘ feature. And, even though I am not the fastest when it comes to reading books (reading to me is a mixture of pleasure and pain – of escapism and research, of amazing inspiration and professional jealously all rolled into one – confusing, huh?), one book clearly stood out, and I know this has been echoed across many great blogs out there too. It simply had to be Tall Oaks by Chris Whitaker.

dscf0583-1 In December I was involved in a book signing at the fantastic indie bookshop – The Wellfield Bookshop (if you’re ever in Cardiff, seek it out – it’s a real treasure trove). Hannah and Connor were great hosts and I’m hoping to get invited back for the next novel (hint, hint!).

Talking about next novels, I submitted the final edits to ‘Splinter‘ this week. Phew!! Another challenging novel to write, for many different reasons, but I’ll tell you more about that in the coming months. I’m already preparing the Tour Bus with some fantastic bloggers and it’s going to be packed with competitions, giveaways, sneak peeks, cover reveals, interviews and more.

Now I am really looking forward to getting stuck into novel three (where did the time go?); the story-line is exciting and one I have been wanting to tackle for a long time. There is also a chance for you to be part of it – so watch this space!

 

Well, that’s a quick round up of 2016 for me, I cannot wait to get stuck into 2017. Bring it on, I say!

And on a final, important closing note I’d just like to thank everyone for their kind support and wish every single one of you a happy, peaceful, book-filled new year!