Which One Was Your Favourite This Week?

Which One Was Your Favourite This Week?

Hi all,

Busier than busy at the moment – as well as napping, looking out of the window and prepping my Academy Awards acceptance speech, the first proofs for the new novel arrived from my publisher yesterday, so it’s spit and polish time for ‘Splinter’, the next in the MacReady series, due in July. And work is well under way on the ‘next next’ book, which is as yet untitled so for now we’ll call it ‘Death Is Quite Unpleasant’ or something, just because we can.

Anyroad, back to the poll – and what a poll it is! Some more big hitters this week, so scroll down and vote…

Here’s the result of last week’s Poll:

 

There were four contenders for the top spot this week, each of them worthy of taking the title, but the fantastic SJI Holliday’s ‘The Damselfly’ grabbed the lead straight out of the starting block and never looked back, earning 45.45% of the votes. David Young’s ‘Stasi Wolf’ took the well-deserved runner up spot, with 27.27% of the votes.

Here’s this week’s Poll:

 

More About This Week’s Winner:

The Damselfly – SJI Holliday

An unsolved murder. A community turned against each other. A killer close to home…

Katie Taylor is the perfect student. She s bright and funny, she has a boyfriend who adores her and there are only a few months left of school before she can swap Banktoun for the bright lights of London. Life gets even better when she has an unexpected win on a scratch card. But then Katie s luck runs out.

Her tragic death instead becomes the latest in a series of dark mysteries blighting the small town. The new school counsellor Polly McAllister, who has recently returned to Banktoun to make amends in her own personal life, is thrown in at the deep end as the pupils and staff come to terms with Katie s death. And it s not long before she uncovers a multitude of murky secrets. Did Katie have enemies? Is her boyfriend really so squeaky clean? And who is her brother s mysterious friend?

With Banktoun s insular community inflamed by gossip and a baying mob stirring itself into a frenzy on social media, DS Davie Gray and DC Louise Jennings must work out who really murdered Katie before someone takes matters into their own hands…

The Damselfly is the latest novel from the bestselling author of Black Wood and Willow Walk set in the small Scottish town of Banktoun. Fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons and Peter James will love this rivetting psychological crime thriller as DS Davie Gray tries to hold together a community once again rocked by tragedy.

 

Read this great review of the damselfly by ByTheLetterBookReviews

Find out more about SJI Holliday on her website

Runner Up

Stasi Wolf – David Young

Read this great review of Stasi Wolf by THE BOOK REVIEW CAFÉ

Previous poll winners:

07/02/2017 Evil Games by Angela Marsons with 43.75%

31/01/2017 The Day That Never Comes by Caimh McDonnell with 31.58%

24/01/2017 Ragdoll with 25% Joint Winner with:

24/01/2017 Rupture with 25% Also Joint Winner with:

24/01/2017 A Boy Made Of Blocks with 25%

17/01/2017 Deep Down Dead By Steph Broadribb with 32%

10/01/2017 Dead Gone by Luca Veste with 33.33%

03/01/17 A Man With One Of Those Faces By Caimh McDonnell with 35.29%

28/12/16 Bloq by Alan Jones with 28% Joint winner with:

28/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 28%

20/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 45.83%

13/12/16 The Gift by Louise Jensen with 33.33% Joint winner with:

13/12/16 Death Stalks Kettle Street by John Bowen with 33.33%

07/12/16 Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough with 52.94%

29/11/16 An Honest Deceit by Guy Mankowski with 39.13%

22/11/16 Blood Lines by Angela Marsons with 38.46%

16/11/16 Tall Oaks by Chris Whitaker with 25%

*Every week I extract all the novel titles from my ‘Round Up Blog‘ and enter them into a poll. If a novel is not on the list it is because it didn’t appear in my blog during the week stated at the top of the poll. I’d love to know which novel (not review) was your favourite. If you haven’t read any of them, pick the one you would choose to read instead.

Reblog: Blink by K. L. Slater – Reviewed by Novel Gossip

Reblog: Blink by K. L. Slater – Reviewed by Novel Gossip

Novelgossip


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: February 16, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Blurb:

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?


Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.


But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.


Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.


A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The…

View original post 437 more words

Which One Was Your Favourite This Week?

Which One Was Your Favourite This Week?

Hi all,

After packing away all my old notes and draft copies of my previous novel, my desk space is finally clear and uncluttered, meaning my head is too. I am finally getting stuck into my new novel (as yet untitled). I am beyond excited about this one, as it is a story line I have wanted to tackle for a while – and I think MacReady is ready to deal with it, despite his increasingly complicated life hitting another huge wall.

So, on to some other novels that have been attracting my attention over the last seven days.  Find out which made it on to the poll this week, and which one won last week

Here’s this week’s Poll:

 

Here’s the result of last week’s Poll:

A good spread of votes this week, but in true bounty-hunter style, Steph Broadribb’s Deep Down Dead captures the top slot, with 32%. T M Logan’s Lies takes second place, while Keith Stuart’s A Boy Made of Blocks and John Marrs’ The One take joint third place.

 

This Week’s Winner:

Deep Down Dead

The blurb:

Lori Anderson is as tough as they come, managing to keep her career as a fearless Florida bounty hunter separate from her role as single mother to nine-year-old Dakota, who suffers from leukaemia. But when the hospital bills start to rack up, she has no choice but to take her daughter along on a job that will make her a fast buck. And that’s when things start to go wrong.

The fugitive she’s assigned to haul back to court is none other than JT, Lori’s former mentor – the man who taught her everything she knows … the man who also knows the secrets of her murky past. Not only is JT fighting a child exploitation racket operating out of one of Florida’s biggest theme parks, Winter Wonderland, a place where ‘bad things never happen’, but he’s also mixed up with the powerful Miami Mob. With two fearsome foes on their tails, just three days to get JT back to Florida, and her daughter to protect, Lori has her work cut out for her. When they’re ambushed at a gas station, the stakes go from high to stratospheric, and things become personal.

Read this great review of Deep Down Dead by The Quiet Knitter

Find out more about Steph Broadribb on her website, Facebook or Twitter

 This Week’s Runner up:

Lies by T M Logan

Reviewed by Bibliophile Book Club

Previous poll winners:

10/01/2017 Dead Gone by Luca Veste with 33.33%

03/01/17 A Man With One Of Those Faces By Caimh McDonnell with 35.29%

28/12/16 Bloq by Alan Jones with 28% Joint winner with:

28/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 28%

20/12/16 Flesh Evidence by Malcolm Hollingdrake with 45.83%

13/12/16 The Gift by Louise Jensen with 33.33% Joint winner with:

13/12/16 Death Stalks Kettle Street by John Bowen with 33.33%

07/12/16 Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough with 52.94%

29/11/16 An Honest Deceit by Guy Mankowski with 39.13%

22/11/16 Blood Lines by Angela Marsons with 38.46%

16/11/16 Tall Oaks by Chris Whitaker with 25%

 

*Every week I extract all the novel titles from my ‘Round Up Blog‘ and enter them into a poll. If a novel is not on the list it is because it didn’t appear in my blog during the week stated at the top of the poll. I’d love to know which novel (not review) was your favourite. If you haven’t read any of them, pick the one you would choose to read instead.

Reblog: Blink by K L Slater – Reviewed by THE BOOK REVIEW CAFÉ

Reblog: Blink by K L Slater – Reviewed by THE BOOK REVIEW CAFÉ

The book review café

img_1223

Book description

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

img_1258

Oh my goodness what a twisted tale Blink by K L Slater is, it’s one that left me breathless due to the number of twists and turns in this highly thrilling and captivating read. Although the concept…

View original post 375 more words